Next Post

I never realized how this affected my sister. Thanks for giving a little bit of your side. I love you :-).

onebalancedmama

My sister and I have always had a close relationship…we’re only 1.5 years apart – grew up in a home with parents who displayed love and affection…Married 32 years – we NEVER saw our parents raise their voice at each other.  My parents taught us to be strong, independent women, showed us the finer things in life – because they never wanted us to ever settle for less. So it came as a shock to me when my sister shared her story of being involved in a brutal, domestic violent filled relationship – for seven years.  And it all happened right under my nose.

To be clear, I knew something wasn’t right…I HATED the guy she was with…(yes, I know hate is a strong word…but I couldn’t find a stronger one to use.)  Anyone who was in my life during that time period knows that I was an emotional wreck…In…

View original post 667 more words

2 responses to this post.

  1. Oh wow Patrick this is beautiful. You truly understood what your friend was going thru. Thanks for sharing. I love your peom. Thank you……I love you 🙂

    Reply

  2. Posted by Patrick jean-Louis on May 30, 2012 at 8:23 am

    Wow Cousin, I’m so proud that you can share your story and help other woman stuck in a situation like yours. I’m happy you are turning a negative into a positive.I would like to share a poem i wrote about an abuse that was happening to a friend. It’s Called for His Love..

    For his Love you’ll run into his arms wide open to embrace him tightly
    gladly you’ll endure any amount of pain to prove that your worthy.
    For his Love you’ll allow your self respect to go out the window and second guess your next breathe
    you’ll stand for this man to call you out your name and make excuses for him even
    after you know he couldn’t care less.
    For his love you’ll take a smack or two in the face
    what’s a little bit of pain when it comes from some one you think you love.
    It’s when the pain starts getting too obvious that’s when you start to play dumb
    refusing to accept the truth as it presents itself so you continue on your endless run.
    Chasing the imaginary that which you think is Love
    but you know Love isn’t defined with negativity so I’ll label you as crazy,
    For his Love.
    For his Love you’ll argue with him and run to your friends for guidance and advice
    and won’t take one bit of guidance or advice.
    It’s a continuous cycle and you run the laps because you love him…Right
    For his love you’ll take the mental, spiritual, emotional and physical and when the abuse gets critical and it’s no more acceptable, you’ll stay with him if he apologizes and promises to change.
    Yeah you stayed with him, even though staying with him caused you nothing more
    than heartache and pain, tears grief and lies and the lies that trouble me are not the lies that he tells you but the lies that you tell yourself.
    Because the lies that you tell yourself are the lies that keep you from leaving him for some one else.
    But the answer doesn’t come from you leaving him for some one else because once you gain knowledge of self, you’ll know that the Love that you seek Lives within limitless with no end.
    And never again will you make the mistake of confusing the Power of Love for being taken advantage of, or being made a fool of,
    Not for his Love or any one else Love
    Peace.
    Love you cousin..
    Patrick Jean-Louis

    Reply

Would love to hear from you :-)

