Break Time

Taking a few minutes away from work to write this post. It helps get all the stuff out my head and disconnect from what I’m doing. There are days my mind is going so fast I ask myself if my brain doesn’t get dizzy. I love the shirt, “this is what ADHD feels like” and the words are all blended together you can’t see them clearly.  Ok so I’m just rambling now…… lol. So apparently all my life I’ve had ADHD and never knew it. I didn’t find out till October 2011 at the age of 37. How did I find out???? Well my son has ADHD, diagnosed when he was 5 now 7. I started in 2011 reading a lot of articles to really bring more awareness in my community by starting a facebook page and twitter. I used to joke at times with friends that I should take medication cause at times I’m so ADHD…..hahaha not realizing I truly was.  I came across several articles that 50% of children with ADHD gets it from one of their parents, so I brushed it on my son’s dad. Then I read an article that doctors should start evaluating parents of children with ADHD. I then decided to look at the symptoms of adult ADHD and really think about me. I printed the questions and took it to the one that knows me best-my dad. I didn’t tell him what I was doing I just asked him to think of me and answer the questions. He answered 17/18 questions yes. He then asked me what the questions were for, I said “I wanted to know if” he jumped in “to see if you have ADHD”? In shock I said yes, he said “you never knew that, you can tell just how you act and the way you think”. He proceeds to remind me how the week before I was pouring ice tea into a cup and the toaster rang, I turned my head to look and kept looking as I continued to pour the juice. I turned back around when I heard the juice splashing on the counter and floor. I still didn’t believe him so I went for a second opinion. It hit me hard while talking to the Psychologist I see her writing on my chart diagnoses ADHD. I was depressed for 2 weeks. During those two weeks looking back over my life it all makes sense now. Ok break time is over….I’ll be back soon 🙂
~ Donata Joseph
http://www.adhdfdn.org
17 responses to this post.

  1. futureshape fat binder…

    You could certainly see your skills within the work you write. The sector hopes for even more passionate writers such as you who are not afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart. “Man is the measure of all things.” by Protagoras…

    Reply

  2. I’d been honored to get a call coming from a friend when he found the important suggestions shared on your own site. Going through your blog write-up is a real fantastic experience. Thank you for considering readers just like me, and I want for you the best of success being a professional in this topic.

    Reply

  3. Great piece of information! May I reference part of this on my blog if I post a backlink to this webpage? Thx.

    Reply

  4. Just wanna comment that you have a very nice website , I love the design and style it actually stands out.

    Reply

  5. Great post, I conceive people should acquire a lot from this web blog its very user friendly .

    Reply

  6. Thank you all! Quality thanks for the heads up, not sure why that’s happening to you. I will look into it.

    Thanks again.

    Reply

  7. I always was concerned in this topic and stock still am, appreciate it for posting .

    Reply

  8. Hi Cara and Hildegarde thank you for your comments. I’m assuming the question about my source has to do with the ratio of parents that have children with ADHD? If so, here is one article http://www.additudemag.com/web/article/623.html.
    Hope this helps.

    🙂

    Reply

  9. Thank you Joshua. Sign up to receive emails on all future post and follow my twitter @adhdfdn or facebook http://www.facebook.com/?sk=welcome#!/adhdfdn so you can get the articles easier. Hope this helps.

    Enjoy 🙂

    Reply

  10. Hi, just wanted to mention, I loved this article. It was inspiring. Keep on posting!

    Reply

  11. Thanks, I’ve just been looking for info about this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I have discovered till now. However, what concerning the conclusion? Are you certain about the supply?

    Reply

  12. Thank you so much for your comment, inspires me to do more.

    Appreciate it 🙂

    Reply

  13. Excellent items from you, man. I’ve take note your stuff prior to and you are just too wonderful. I really like what you have got here, really like what you are stating and the best way wherein you assert it. You make it entertaining and you continue to care for to stay it sensible. I can’t wait to read much more from you. This is really a great site.

    Reply

  14. You are my aspiration , I own few web logs and occasionally run out from to brand.

    Reply

Would love to hear from you :-)

